Vsoftgel Vitamin D3 (NPN 80053510) is Canada's first truly vegan vitamin D3 sustainably sourced from non-GMO lichen. Lichen is a plant-like substance made up of symbiotic algae and fungi.
Until now, the options for supplementing with Vitamin D were quite limited for vegans, since most products are derived from the oil from sheep wool. Some products come from genetically modified soy, but that method produces a less effective form (D2, rather than D3).
How Does It Work?
Vitamin D is primarily known to boost mood, especially during winter months when our skin gets little exposure to the sun. In fact, vitamin D deficiency has been identified as a risk factor for seasonal affective disorder (SAD), otherwise known as "the winter blues." However, vitamin D's commercial and scientific popularity is approaching that of vitamin C, as more and more benefits of this vitamin are being discovered. Many people use it during cold and flu season to help prevent infection, since it has been shown to support immunity.
Vitamin D3 is also vital to bone growth since it supports calcium absorption. Vitamin D deficiency results in rickets in children and osteomalacia in adults, both of which are characterized by inadequate bone mineralization. More recently, vitamin D has been found to have protective effects against autoimmunity and several age-related diseases.
Almost anyone can benefit from taking vitamin D3, especially those who spend most of their time indoors or who live in northern climates.
The AOR Advantage
AOR's new Eco Series Sustainable Vitamin D3 Vsoftgels are 100% vegan, with a sustainable, non-animal source of this more effective (than vitamin D2) form of Vitamin D, encapsulated in a safe, sustainable, highly absorbable, and vegetarian softgel delivery system.
AOR's Vsoftgels offer superior absorption which vegans and vegetarians can now take advantage of. The biggest advantage of offering fat-soluble vitamins such as vitamin D3 in a softgel is that it allows for better bioavailability, due to the vitamin being suspended in an oil base, optimizing its absorption in the gastrointestinal tract.
In the past, softgels were always made with animal products -- from gelatin derived from boiling down cartilage, for example. And then when vegan softgels came into the market, they nearly all used carrageenan, an edible seaweed which has become associated with inducing inflammation. However, AOR's Vsoftgels are now carrageenan-free, using glycerin (made from vegetable oil) and tapioca starch to form the capsule shell.